Brief History about the Department of Economics

The Department of Economics was a foundation department of the University since its inception in 1982. The Department was facilitated when Prof. Olusegun Areola became the Dean of the Faculty of the Social Sciences and 16 students were the 1st set of admitted students in February 1983. Dr A. I. Ayodele was the Pioneer staff of Department and was later joined by Mr (now Prof.) E. O. Ogunleye. Initial academic programme of the unit were developed by the duo of Prof. Adamu and Ajai (from University of Ibadan) and Prof. Fajana (Lagos). The Current HOD is Dr T. Owoeye.

Since inception of the Department, the following academic staff have served as Head of Department





Dr Ayo Fajehinsin

1997 – 2001


Dr S. A. Olaiya

August 2001 – July 2005


Dr E. O. Ogunleye                 

August 2005 – July 2007


Dr A. A. Awe

August 2007 – July 7, 2009


Dr E. O. Ogunleye     

August 2009 – July 2011


Dr A. A. Awe            

August 2011 – July 2012


Prof. E. O. Ogunleye

August 2012 – July 2014


Dr R. K. Ayeni

August 2014 – July 2016


Dr T. Owoeye

August 2016 – July 2018


Dr S. Ogunsakin

August 2018 – July 2020


Dr T. Owoeye            

August 2020 till date

Our Philosophy

The philosophy of the Department derives from the philosophy of the University set to achieve effective application of higher education to develop the economy and solve the problems of economic development in the state, the nation and world at large. The Department provides high standard educational programme through seminars, field work and projects that cut across the spectrum of the Social Sciences towards turning our students into articulate and skilled professionals.

Objectives and Mission Statement

  • Equip our graduate with sound and relevant knowledge of economics that would prepare them to cope with challenges in developing nations like Nigeria and to contribute effectively to its overall development.
  • Instill in our graduates the ability to apply basic knowledge of the economics to solve economic problems
  • Involve students in an intellectually stimulating and satisfying experience of learning that could lead to the acquiring of the skills and principles in the various spheres of the Social Sciences and their applications in solving State and National problems.
  • Provide the opportunity for students to become familiar with the different area of specialization in the Social Sciences.
  • Develop in our graduates useful competencies in public, private, global or self-employment, and
  • Equip our graduates with the skills required for further studies in any desired area of specialization

Mission Statement of the Department

To equip our graduate with sound and relevant knowledge of economics that would prepare them to cope with challenges in developing nations

General Services and Academic Programmes

The Department of Economics runs a three year and four-year B.Sc Degree Programme with various specialization including Development Economics, Industrial Economics, Monetary Economics, Public Finance, International Economics, Operations Research, Health Economics, etc. In line with the National University Commission (N.U.C.), minimum academic standards in B.Sc. Economics the courses in the undergraduate degree programme have recently been restructured. New courses such as Labour  Economics, Managerial Economics, Public Sector Economics, Production Economics and Petroleum Economics, have been introduced. Statistical Eonomics, History of Economic Thought, mathematical Economics and Industrial Economics have been broadened to run for more than a semester. In line with the NUC minimum standards, students have options of taking elective courses both with and outside the Department. The Department also run three post-graduate programmes namely, M.Sc (Economics) M.Phil/Ph.D (Economics) and Ph.D (Economics) with specializations in various areas of Economics.

Personnel Administration of the Department Comprises

i    Department Board of Studies: Consisting of H.O.D., Level Coordinators, Examination Officer, Tutorial coordinators and Seminars         Coordinators.

ii(a) Department Board of Examiner comprising H.O.D. and all Teaching staff

 b   Staff in the Department especially academics, are involved in decision making process through regular departmental meeting.         Committees are put in place and their reports are considered at the departmental meetings. Staffs are assigned as Level Co-             ordinators, Seminars Co-ordinators, students Adviser and Secretary.

c  On the issue of policy and practice on staff development, staffs are given opportunity of applying for university sponsorship to         pursue higher degree progamme as well as attending conferences, seminars and workshops. Also, members of our staff are  being  sponsored to conferences at regular interval.

 d   Staff Promotion: Annual review exercise is carried out to determine staff qualified for promotion as laid down in the University guidelines for appointments and promotions.

Students’ Welfare

  • Academic grievances are handled by level coordinators whose reports are considered at the Department Board of Examiners.
  • Academic coordinators are assigned per level and coordinators handle the computation of results as well as complaints concerning academic matters.


      Courses handlers (Lecturers) provide questions which are thereafter moderated internally by senior academic colleagues before they are finally sent out to external moderator of final year moderation. After the examination and marking of scripts, the results, the answer scripts, and the marking guide are again sent to external moderator before the results are published and communicated to the students.

Academic Atmosphere

For academic standard, members of staff employed to handle course are those who are specialists in the particular areas which are directly relevant to the programme.

i           Staff maintain adequate contact hour with the students

ii          Seminars are organized periodically in the department.

iii         Conferences are organized periodically in the Faculty.